Judo Workout, PHASE 3, Brown to Black

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bubble Boy

Black Belt
@Black
Reaction score
01-12-2006

Got my brown belt tonight in class. No test, just had it handed to me. Took about 6 years.

This is going to be a long log: from today until I get the black belt.

Anybody who wants to come along for the ride, hop on board.

Just to be clear though, I'm a recreational judoka.
Judo is my hobby.
I'm by no means an expert, or some competitive bad ass, or some power lifting gym jockey. I've got a life, but I still train hard and take this judo stuff relatively seriously.
I have a wife and kids, a full time job, and I'm a full time college student at the age of 40. Whatever time is left I spend on judo, or some related training.

Please add whatever comments you like. I've learned so much over the past couple of logs from Judogido, Registered, Steeltwo, and others that I can't imagine my training without them. Not to be sappy, but there really is a brotherhood in judo...

JUDO

Again, was handed my brown infomally at the start of class tonight. My friend Eric got his green tonight.
We worked a nasty painful leg armlock tonight. You basically figure four your opponents arm while drapped across their back, and crank it with your legs until you get the hyper-extension on their elbow.
We worked armbars for about an hour tonight. VERY detailed instructions from Randy (our coach) on how to really set them up, how to free the opponents arm if they're defending well, how to shift to uki gatame, etc.
We rolled for about 15 minutes and then did crash pad throws to finish class.

Just jazzed about finally getting the brown! :D

EDIT: Links to my previous logs:
http://www.sherdog.net/forums/showthread.php?t=233347
http://www.sherdog.net/forums/showthread.php?t=203274 <<<<First log started 09-28-2004.

FURTHER EDIT: The "boxing" portion of this log doesn't get started until November...

Congratulations :)

keeping in touch

ps
"the soup" .......:wink: