Guerilla Cardio Recruits

TidusAeon

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Who's actually in for the program?

I've done it 4 times so far give or take.

They wind the hell out of me?

I'm going to keep a journal in here somewhat.

It would be cool if others would do so as well in the same thread.

Now get running guys!

TidusAeon said:
Who's actually in for the program?

I've done it 4 times so far give or take.

They wind the hell out of me?

I'm going to keep a journal in here somewhat.

It would be cool if others would do so as well in the same thread.

Now get running guys!
I have done it 2 or 3 times, but I can't keep track and havent done it awhile, because of my lower body lifting.

I have been doing Tabata intervals for about 4 months now.

After reading this forum last night, I started a modified type of guerilla/tabata/HIIT training tonight. After some brisk walking to warm up for about 2 miles, i found a slightly graded hill. In both hands i carried a 2lbs dumbell. I sprinted up the hill while pumping my arms as hard as i could. I estimate the hill took about 20 seconds to get up, and i walked for about a 1.5minutes getting down, then repeated 10 times.

After that i walked up a larger hill for general conditioning. Then found another smaller hill that was long. This time without dumbells, i did a 20 second sprint, and about 10second rest for two reps until i reached the top of the hill, then walked to the bottom for about 3 minutes or so. Then repeated it once more.

I had originally planned on going to the gym after this, but I was pretty much done after that. I'll definitely try to keep it up.

I think it's probably good for high level cardio/combat conditioning. But you still cannot neglect mid and low level conditioning. Which could very well be of a low impact nature. Just something similar to a brisk 2 mile walk or walk/slow jog on occassion. Along with some eliptical and other forms of weight training and plyometrics for strength, etc.