Training log for 2006

blandy

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
After a lovely break over christmas :) training started up again this week. A little background, I have been training BJJ for close to two years now, I do my conditioning at home due to cost. I currently have a sandbag, a few medicine balls, dumbells, skipping rope and just picked up a second hand rower between me and my girlfriend from ebay. There is also a park near by for out door training.

I competed for the first towards the end of last year ina sub wrestling comp and took third in my weight class. My imediate training goals are preparing for a couple of competitions, Urban Gorillaz Grappling Challenge Northern Open on March12th and The Gracie Invitational on May6th

I plan to start adding some judo/wrestling sessions to my trainig as well however that depends on money and if I can find a new job. As for my conditioning I really want to concentrate on leaning up a bit, together with improving my "mat cardio". Combining this with having good "mat strength" and not having a lot of weight to use I am going to concentrate mainly on condition at the expense of max effort lifting. A couple of ideas I want to use are Alwyn Cosgrove's Metabolic Power Training for MMA, Crossfit, Tabata intervals and some of the stuff I've got from Intocomcat's newsletter

Tuesday 3rd January

Conditioning

crossfit style warm up
warrior stretch 20 seconds each side
push upsx10
sandbag rows x10
squatsx10
situpsx10

repeated for 2 rounds

Complex training

Deadlift x 6
Romanian Deadlift x 6
Bent Over Row x 6
Power Clean x 6
Front Squat x 6
Push Press x6

with a 32kg sandbag, repeated for 2 rounds

rowing machine - 10 minutes
want to get some LSD style training in before I start doing intervals

messed around with some medicine ball ab work for a bit at the end

Wednesday 4th Jan

BJJ class