Techniques that just don't work

dickfloss

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
with all the "what's your best combo/technique ?" threads, i'm curious what you guys think are techniques that are just crap

things you see people try out in the gym and you think to yourself "that's never gonna work"

for me it was yours truly trying out the peek-a-boo stance when i was a noob (and i still am) and had no radar whatsoever.. so my head was moving.. but i wasnt looking, and wherever i moved, i would get popped.. i did that for a few sparring sessions before i realised how unco i looked

here's your chance to get some load off your chest and blast that noob you see in the gym! :icon_twis

Twin forarm blocking for me never feels good, and i cant imagin using it in a fight to be honest.

thats for MT btw

Crescent kicks, inside or out.

elbow to the body in the standing position. I don't think i've ever seen one used.

Superman uppercut!

I'm still a fan of peekaboo, personally. I like to keep everything in tight and go defense over offense.

I enjoy watching people that are trying to learn MMA try snap-kicks and reverse-knuckle punches.

elbow to the body in the standing position. I don't think i've ever seen one used.

I don't think I ever even considered that as a technique! Maybe if you were a thalidomide midget.

A headbut to the body would be even more useless. I don't think it's illegal. Could be used in MMA I suppose.

Superman uppercut!

I'm still a fan of peekaboo, personally. I like to keep everything in tight and go defense over offense.

I enjoy watching people that are trying to learn MMA try snap-kicks and reverse-knuckle punches.

Snap kicks? What like front snap kicks? Certainly teep/thrust kicks work.

Spinning back fists have produced some highlight KO's though.

Blocking kicks with your hands. I have seen this in McDojos.

^yeah. esp. low kicks.

blocking low kicks with your hands is just plain stupid.