Starting from standup in BJJ practice?

DoubleUp

White Belt
Reaction score
New guy here. I have several years of wrestling experience, and about a year of Judo.

I have been taking a BJJ class, and I am struck by the fact that our Randori always begins on our knees. In a month, we have begun from standup once. Besides everyone wanting to just pull guard, I found it unusual.

Your thoughts?

I absolutely hate it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Usually i will ask to start standing and my parnter will get a look of terror in his eyes and i will suggest that we start from standing and then one of us at least go thru the motions of a takedown or throw and the other guy not give to much resistance.........you know, just to remind the muscles what those moves are like.

I can understand it if the mat space is packed and whatnot, but really i just feel its very bad practice and something that BJJ gets wrong.

Standup is way better, If you decide to do tournaments most of them are from standing so its a good idea to practice that instead of going to your knees to start your roll.

You know, I have been in packed Judo dojos and we always found space. You have to just be aware.

I absolutely hate it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Usually i will ask to start standing and my parnter will get a look of terror in his eyes and i will suggest that we start from standing and then one of us at least go thru the motions of a takedown or throw and the other guy not give to much resistance.........you know, just to remind the muscles what those moves are like.

I can understand it if the mat space is packed and whatnot, but really i just feel its very bad practice and something that BJJ gets wrong.

That was me the first few weeks :D

This is what my instructor said although during the free rolling generally most people start on the ground due to lack of space (he teaches what is called a BJJ class but with Judo throws in it to get it on the ground):