Protein Shakes..Pros & Cons??

Cnyle33

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Just wanted to know if taking protein shakes could cause me to gain more body fat, i know it should be takin b4 and after each workout, but i dont know how much of a workout i should do (that makes sense to me). ANY INFO WOULD BE GREAT APPRECIATED.

P.S. im doing this for BJJ im hoping to put on some muscle. Im 6" and 170 (skinny). Hopefully you guys could give me some good ab/leg workouts (i was told those are very crucial in bjj). THANKS.

If its possible i would like to know how much i should take and what i should take it with. Im a total newb, sorry.

eat 1gm protein/lb body weight every day. So, eat 170gm protein a day, in 3 or more meals. Make sure you do at leats basic weight training, hitting the major exercises like bench presses, squats or deadlifts, pullups.

Getting protein from a shake or from food doesn't really matter too much except for your post workout meal. It is thought that taking a quickly absorbed whey shake after a workout will limit catabolic reactions (muscle damage/muscle loss for fuel) and allow anabolic (growth) processes to engage faster.

You don't have to supplement with protein shakes to get fine gains, but for the post workout meal, it is worth considering.

Error on the side of excess with protein. So 1gram/lb is good. I definitely recommend Squat and DL, they are great for core strength which is important in all sports, but I don't know what level you are at. You may want to perfom a body weight routine and/or GPP. Do some research on eating and lifting so you know what questions to ask or maybe find the answers before you ask.

I recommend you repost this in the supp forum. Some people who really know about supps post there. Also this has been covered extensively. I think you should just do a search there and you will find out about protein doesage, differences between the brands, and differences between the different kinds (hydrosolate, isolate etc..).