pain in collarbone doing dips.

Amnesiac

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
Hi guys been following this forum a lot and have learned quite a bit about lifting. I'm following the 3 day split thats in the FAQ and have been noticing some pain in my collarbone while doing dips.
I can do the set fine (I'm just doing BW dips) but when I'm putting my feet back on the steps I'm getting pain on the left side of my collarbone. As soon as all the weight is back on my feet the pain is gone. It's only there for a second while I'm putting the weight onto my feet from my arms. This happens on both wide and close grip. Is there anything I should do or try to avoid doing to stop this?

Just keep doing dips. The pain will go away.

I'm 25. I've been doing the dips through the pain for a good 5 or 6 months. It just seems strange that it doesn't hurt while I'm doing them. Is it maybe just a form problem while lowering myself?

When you lower yourself are you going past your normal ROM? Does it hurt towards your shoulder, towards your neck, or right in the middle? Is it both or just 1 side?

I'm 25. I've been doing the dips through the pain for a good 5 or 6 months. It just seems strange that it doesn't hurt while I'm doing them. Is it maybe just a form problem while lowering myself?

HAve you ever had any shoulder injuries, like an A/C separation?

I go just about to the bottom of my normal ROM and it hurts right around the middle of my left side.

I haven't had any shoulder/uper body injuries previously.

Appreciate the replies so far guys.

Here's random bullshit speculation, but it seems like it's a tendon/muscle in your neck tightening up as you release tension in your pecs and traps at the bottom of your ROM.

I used to have something similar... but it was because I was dipping WAY to low... you sure you aren't dipping to low?