How often do you free-roll?

ThaiFighter_83

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I've found that with almost every exercise I do, I can do it hard 4 times per week for maximal results, no more, no less. Running, weightlifting (with different muscle groups on different days, each group just getting worked once per week), isometrics in the Kung Fu forms I do, pad work for Muay Thai, etc, etc.

However, sparring is something that I've found is best for me to do just twice per week. I did it 4 times a week for a long time, and my timing somehow didn't develop quite as well when I did greater quantities of rounds on just 2 days per week. Something about the pressure of going with someone else's timing is just too taxing for me to sharpen my own timing if done over 2 times per week.

Now, for my question to you guys...Is this true of free-rolling? I just started grappling this year, so I'm not very experienced yet. I had been rolling 3-4 times per week for most of this year, but I overtaxed my body last week and got sick. I think it was due to the extra rolling I did. I think the same is true with rolling as is with striking sparring...something about the pressure of working around someone else's timing and strength is too taxing to develop my own timing to sharp levels, if done more than twice per week. Last week, when I got sick on the extra day I rolled, I noticed I wasn't as aggressive as I normally was, and was just getting my butt kicked.

But it's crazy when i hear about how some people spar and free-roll 6 times per week or whatever. Or what boggles my mind even more is when I hear of Thai fighters in Thailand hitting pads and running twice per day, SEVEN days a week! They must be going super easy on some days if that's the case. And even if that's so, I still have a hard time believing it.

We free roll every day. 3 ten minute rounds, or 4 8 minutes rounds, sometimes 3 9's. Occasionally we will do 5 5's, or a lot of 3's.

2 or 3 minutes between rounds.