Do Muay Thai classes emphasize cardio more than BJJ classes?

AreYouHappyNow?

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello, my name is AreYouHappyNow? and I'm new to Sherdog. Fight training is new to me too, so I'd really appreciate your input on this subject.

I've attended quite a few martial arts training classes. But I've never participated in them or stayed for an entire session. I'm a real, raw rookie in that I've never even been in a fight school, ever. I've trained before, but always without supervision. I have a target date of entering my first school at the end of this month. I'm really looking forward to it, but I have a question that will help me pick out a school. Your answers will help me determine what school I go to.

My question is: Do Muay Thai schools empahsize cardio conditioning more than the Brazilian jiu-jitsu classes? Based on what I've seen, it appears as if the MT classes are more cardio inclined than the BJJ classes.

I've seen the MT students do:

--medicine ball excercises

--heavy bag drills

--jump rope

--burpees

--run laps around the studio

--shadowbox

--and then do it all over again and then some

I've seen the BJJ students:

--roll around on the floor and grapple

--and that's just about it

So in addition to my original question of, "Do Muay Thai classes emphasize cardio excercises more than BJJ classes," would you say that it's alot easier to run out of gas in an MT class as opposed to a BJJ class?

Thanks in advance for any input.

i would definatly say MT for cardio. all we do at TeamTompkins is run, jump, and throw combinations till you have internal bleeding. Our gym actualy takes pride in having the best cardio trained fighters in all of canada.

when we roll BJJ it doesn't fell like work at all in comparison to the MT conditioning

Depends on the gym and the instructor.