Why aren't there more teenage grapplers?

SeanOnTheMat

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

This is my first post on this form, so I just wanted to introduce myself first - my name is Sean, and I'm a 17 year old blue belt in FL. I pretty much live and breathe judo, BJJ, and grappling and I try to compete whenever I have the chance.

Anyway, I've been practicing judo for a few years now and just recently started BJJ and have been at a bunch of different clubs in my area, but one thing I notice is that the people I train with are usually much older than I am (most are in their late 30's or 40's, but there's a few people in their early 60's too.) I really appreciate how helpful it can be to train with older people. A lot of times, they have a ton of competition experience and are always helpful in demonstrating techniques and stuff. But it's been tough finding people around my age who share the same interests in judo, BJJ, or even grappling in general. Pretty much the only time I meet people my age are at regional or state competitions, or the occasional teenager who starts training, but only stays for a few classes before quitting. Is this something that's common in most clubs? Or is the practically non-existence of teenage grapplers just something in my area (it is Florida after all, lol :) ) Anyway, thanks for your help, and I'll try to stay as active as I can on this forum - I've been reading it for months, but just now decided to join.

Thanks again.

- Sean

Easy there are much better things to be doing for a teenager. Drugs, girls, friends, etc. Not to mention many don't understand the appeal to grappling. The only reason I got into it is because I didn't want to end up like the Hapkido guy helpless in mount.