What type of standup do you train in?

phenomfan1529

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
Just wanted to know what type of standup do my fellow sherdogers train in & for how long?
I've been Boxing for almost 7 months now. Anybody else care to share?

I train just kickboxing now for my standup but I trained boxing hard for a while, became a certified coach.

Spoonman7 said:
I train just kickboxing now for my standup but I trained boxing hard for a while, became a certified coach.

Showoff! jus kiddin, how long did it take you to become certified?

I train kung fu...are stand up is rly smooth and flowing, some of the styles that we do involve trapping arms, and cornering. Since my school is so mixed, are style is very different everyone seems to be using a front stance, since its good for punches and for med-high kicks. But we switch from so many stances not even to bother with which stance there in and determind what can hit u and what cant. staying lighting on the feet and working things we call set-ups. Where u hit and attempt to hit them in a certain area making them block using ur other hand or leg and go for the opening.

MN-KungFu said:
I train kung fu...are stand up is rly smooth and flowing, some of the styles that we do involve trapping arms, and cornering. Since my school is so mixed, are style is very different everyone seems to be using a front stance, since its good for punches and for med-high kicks. But we switch from so many stances not even to bother with which stance there in and determind what can hit u and what cant. staying lighting on the feet and working things we call set-ups. Where u hit and attempt to hit them in a certain area making them block using ur other hand or leg and go for the opening.

What kind of Kung Fu do you train? Trapping is great, that's one element I feel is direly missed in Boxing and American Kixkboxing.