To Squat or Not? That is the question...sort of

JustJoe

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello. OK, Ive been doing squats for about...oh 5,maybe 6 months. I started out HATING them. Slowly Im learning to...uh...appreciate. My Question is, I originally learned "how to squat" from reading stuff in here...youtube vids, and good ole fashioned hard work. I at first tried the "powerlifting" type squat where you sit way back,low bar, etc. Ive always found this awkward. Ive also fumbled with the more "olympic" type squat where my feet are closer, high bar, etc. So, to get to my REAL question, considering its more important for my body to "get strong" and maintain athleticism( in this case ive gotta GET IT first) do you who are much more knowledgable than I know if it would be a BAD idea to lose the powerlifting squat and focus on the other type? I am still a beginner, and have SO much to learn, but its my understanding that the "powerlifting" squats main purpose is to move the most weight, while the other type im thinking of is better overall for your body. Am i making ANY sense at all? At the risk of getting fruit thrown at me, should i try to rephrase??? Please be gentle.:icon_chee

Learn both, experiment with both, eventually you will sort of figure out which path to go based on your build and training objectives.

ok...so it sounds like it wouldnt be a mistake to follow my instincts and not "sit back...waay back".. Thank you, Keith.

You know,

I have learned many thing from a lot of people over the years ( some more than others) but I always paid special attention to people who I shared a very similar build with.

I've tried both and personally right now I like olympic style squats. I'm not flexible enough to do powerlifting style, but I hope to eventually be able to do them.

Squat till you drop!!

The only way to love em is to do many varieties of the movement so you don't get bored...