This effing guy/Gym ettiquite

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scarymonster

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I was at the gym on monday. I am fairly new at the Y gym b/c of having kids & having a decent work and home gym just haven;t needed a membership anywhere for 5 years.
So this guy is in the power rack for like seriuously 20 minutes, farting around doing some kind of bad form complex routine with 2 minute breaks and all i want to do is some deadlifts. And after screwing around expecting him to be complete I finally asked him how many sets he has. He says, 12 but since you're bothering me, 15. Then he pushes me, lightly you know. Meanwhile, another guy comes up and says to him, how many sets you have left? It was pretty funny. I laughed at his face and told guy 2 he told me 15 when I asked him, then he pushed me. Guy 2 looked confused and left. Then he did another few sets and left. I ended up talking to him after and he seemed okay. But WTF. Did gym ettiquite evolve when I was a non-member?

My 1st question has to be: Why do you need the power rack to do DL?

Bar, weights, floor... That should do it really.

Yeah gym etiquette has changed, he was challenging you for gym supremacy. Since you didn't knock him out he now has full control of the squat rack so whenever he's in the gym even if you are in the middle of a set you have to let him use the rack and call him sir. If you want to regain control of the gym you have to kill him by staking him through the heart with a barbell.

he really pushed you? or bumped into you while walking, if somebody pushed me for no reason I would bodyslam them

If someone pushes you your immediate reaction should be a double leg takedown. You used bad etiquette in not helping him with his attitude problem via wrestling.

I didn't read the first post very close and I thought it said he was farting in the power rack for 20 minutes. I was going to agree that is indeed horrible etiquette.

Several questions.