The Official Luta Livre thread

uchubaco

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
luta+livre.jpg

I don't know if I am able to make an official related thread, but here it goes.

Similar to what we have with the Catch Wrestling and Sambo threads, I feel that our forum needs a Luta Livre related thread, one in which we can not only talk about what Luta Livre is, but also to share some of its history, Lineages, differences between not only the different styles, but also the different styles inside Luta Livre.

I have been training Luta Livre for nearly ten years and know a lot of its story, roots, beefs between LL camps and outside camps (the LL vs BJJ beef)…I will try to share some of my knowledge with you guys, but if you have some knowledge, experience training LL and more, it would be awesome of you can share your experiences also…you are welcome to be a part of this, cheers!!

I will start speaking about the two main Luta Livre lineages. You have the "Tatu" Lineage and the Leitao Lineage. The main issue with both Lineages is that, depending on who you talk to, they will have a different idea on who was either the father or creator of Luta Livre.

The "Tatu" Lineage refers to the Lineage of students of the guy who is considered the father of Luta Livre, Euclydes "Tatu" Hatem. Tatu was according to history a former Professional Wrestler and a practitioner of Catch as Catch Can Wrestling. It was during his years on the Pro Wrestling circuit that he went into both worked and real bouts, leading to him developing and creating techniques, positions, takedowns and such to face the new challenges, leading to the creation of what was Luta Livre. Visually the best way to recognize a Luta Livre practitioner of the "Tatu " Lineage is because they tend to train LL wearing the pants of a Gi with the Rank Belt over it.