Strength Training for teen

avidfighter

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys,
As a teen, what type of strength training should i engage in? (eg. plyos, barbell complexes, calisthenics or med-ball). Are there any strength training programs that are ideal for me? Things to consider: Time: since I'm a student. Frequency: again studies and also ability to recover since i train kickboxing as well. Thanks

If you are under 16, I'd suggest to focus a lot on plyos and calisthenics. Get a really strong core, practice sprints and vertical jump. Get strong on the pull-ups and push-ups.

If you are over 16, you can dive straight into strength train if you want, Wendler's 5/3/1 is good.

Lemme fix that for you...

If you are under 16, your spine will instantly compress like an accordion and you will be a lifelong midget the second you even look at a barbell. Just look at the Chinese. Also no puberty = no gains.

If you are over 16, SS GOMAD

If you are under 16, I'd suggest to focus a lot on plyos and calisthenics. Get a really strong core, practice sprints and vertical jump. Get strong on the pull-ups and push-ups.

If you are over 16, you can dive straight into strength train if you want, Wendler's 5/3/1 is good.

No.

The "stunting growth"/damaging growth plates thing is a myth.

Yiu can start lifting weights whenever. What is true is that prior to puberty you don't have the hormones required for significant muscle growth, so then you need to focus more on correct form and be cautious with increasing the weight. Once puberty is happening, or is done, you can lift.

Above all else, leave your ego out of the gym. Don't lift weights that you can't handle without correct form.

Good range of motion and good form is more impressive than not properly controlling a bit more weight

Well I was 15 when I started working out and now at 21 I'm only 170cm. Coincidence? I think not!
And the fact that my mom is ~160cm and my dad ~175cm has nothing to do with my height.