Starting Stronglifts 5x5 Need help!

Savant21

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
In about 2 weeks I'm going to join the ymca & begin the stronglifts 5x5 lifting routine. I've never seriously lifted before, so basically I'm a complete noob. My goal is to gain weight. I'm 6'1 1/2 161 lbs. I need some advice on a few concerns of mine before I start.

1. How long will it be until I'll need a spotter? When you start the routine on the first day, you just start off with the barbell itself. You add 5 lbs each workout. I don't have anyone to lift with, should I worry about this?

2. How do I warm-up? I heard that it's best to just do a few reps of each lift with just the bar. Running on a treadmill to warmup before lifting isn't very conducive to your gains. Could anyone clarify this & explain how I should warmup?

3. I plan on lifting Mon,Tues, & Thurs (after school). Every other day I'll probably be at work. Should I space out the workouts so I can give myself a little more rest or is this fine? (I just got a job & I put that I'm available for Sun,Wed,Fri,Sat)

4. Should I keep a lifting log detailing every lift I did for each specific day? (Sounds stupid but I'm completely new to lifting)

5. Is there anything else I'm missing that I should be aware of before I start the routine?

Here's a link to the 5x5 routine StrongLifts 5×5 Strength Training Program | StrongLifts.com

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Sorry for any inconveniences.

1. Don't need a spotter when starting out. Just need to drill in proper form constantly. Do this by taking a camera and filming your lifts.

2. Start with bar. Add weight each time. I like to do 3-4 warmup sets.

3. Yes

4. Keep log yes, very important.

@TrainingAdict Thanks man I greatly appreciate it!

If possible, you should try working out on non-consecutive days. Once the weights get heavier, you are really going to need the day off in between in order to recover.