Soreness/no soreness after lifting?

S

SixTwoSix

So I just started lifting yesterday, and today I wake up and I'm not sore at all even though I was immediately after lifting. I'm taking this to mean that it wasn't effective, am I just being an idiot or do I need to lift more on my lift days? I checked the FAQ and found nothing, sorry if this has been answered before.

Did you eat immediately after lifting? If so, what did you eat? I ALWAYS eat a protein and good carb rich meal after I work out and this helps my soreness tremendously.

My worst soreness (if I get sore) occurs on the second day usually. So, it might hit you later.

So how/what did you lift? program? exercises?

Soreness really isn't an indicator of effectiveness BBUUUTTT if you JUST started lifting and aren't swore then that is strange... post routine?

Soreness is usually how your body responds to a new stimulus.

What that means is if you have not done X exercise in a while (weeks or months or never) then being sore is how your body responds.

I find once the initial soreness fades, if I keep frequent with that exercise, I'll never get sore again unless I do an insane amount of volume.

Soreness is not your indicator. Strength or size gains are your indicator.

Here's an excerpt from a Joe DeFranco article entitled, "10 Training Myths Exposed":

Myth #3: The best indicators of a good workout are how tired you are after the workout and how sore you are the next day.

This is a myth my most dedicated athletes still have a tough time dismissing. Most hard-working individuals equate a good workout with being exhausted and sore. I can

Even though soreness isn't an indicator it is a bit odd to not be sore after your first day of lifting.

Post your routine

maybe your naturally gifted with great recovery, in which case congrats

You must pump more iron, make sure you do your 15x10 curls.

I was doing 5x5 of:

Curls
Bench Press
Military Press
Tricep Extensions
Dumbell sitting power cleans