New age fitness too complex?

MaxMMA

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
Probably going to get flamed big time for this post, but here goes. I've been in the MMA scene for quite sometime, I'm an MMA veteran of 18 fights combined ammy/pro. During this time I've trained at 4 different MMA gyms, and probably half a dozen other martial arts gyms (boxing gyms, TKD, karate, bjj schools, and even a wrestling club at one point).

During the old days (early 2000s for me) the S&C at the places I trained was very straight forward. If you lacked strength coach had you lift and/or did calisthenics, if you needed to improve cardio you hit the road or pool, fight camp was reserved for hitt training, which we called hurricane training back then.

Fast forward to today and every gym no matter how big or how small has designated S&C coaches and most of them have some pretty advanced training programs. These coaches have people doing hundreds of different exercises and lifts, static movements, explosive movements, resistance bands, the list goes on and on. Not always, but usually they accompany these exercises with phrases like "this is going to increase your power!" "this will increase the torque of your hips!" "This will improve your guard retention!" "This will help you EXPLODE into the takedowns!"

Meanwhile the crippled old coaches teaching the technical classes can beat the shit out of 90% of the students they coach. What I'm trying to ask is it possible these popular MMA teams and coaches are over complicating S&C? At the end of the day isn't S&C about strengthening your body to withstand the rigors of MMA training and building energy to fuel your technical sessions and performance?

Is it really necessary to do hundreds of different movements utilizing hundreds of different techniques and equipment to accomplish this goal? At the end of the day the way to get more punching power is to punch, the way to get "explosive" take downs is to shoot hundreds of take downs.