News "Marina beating Dern solidified me as the number 1 contender" - Esparza

Mohawk Banditó

Gold Belt
@Gold
Reaction score
https://mmajunkie.usatoday.com/2021...-remains-no-1-contender-wants-next-title-shot

“I think there was talks of McKenzie being in there (title picture), especially with a similar win record. I could see an argument for that and she’s got a lot of hype behind her too and she’s a really great fighter. She had explosive finishes on the ground, so I could’ve definitely seen an argument for that.
But with Marina having a win over her and myself having a win over Marina, and being her only loss, I think it really solidified me as the No. 1 contender.
I’m going to know a lot after the fight on Nov. 6. I think whatever happens after that fight is going to be very telling on what happens with my future and my next fight.
Of course I want the title fight. I’ve been fighting for seven years to get back to this point, but I also want to stay active and fight because that’s what I like to do, so hopefully, it goes in a way that makes sense for the UFC to give me the next fight.
“I’m humbled and appreciative for all the support that I’ve gotten when the announcement was made for Weili to get the rematch. A lot of people were vocal saying I deserved it, but at the end of the day, the UFC is going to make their decisions. I’m just going to sit and wait and hopefully I get that opportunity next."
---

I mean, I thought she lost to Marina, personally, and the fight was shit, but it was kinda close.

But on paper, she's absolutely right about what her record should mean. 5 fight win streak over Jandiroba(unranked - now #12), Grasso (#9 - now #10 at fly), Waterson (#8 - now #10), Rodriguez (#9 - now #4), and Xiaonan (#3 - now #5).

None of those past "wins" (I say that word lightly) got much worse, they actually mostly got better over time, and not only is she on the outside looking in for
9QN1ymw.png
some
9QN1ymw.png