just started bjj

Jr1788

White Belt
Reaction score
I started training about 2 weeks ago and am loving it so far. Sore as hell, but its the most fun I've had working out ever. my last 3 classes started involving mount, guard, side mount and submission techniques, my first 3 were all stand up techniques and learning proper form to roll. Anyways, here is my issue. In these last 3 classes, I've been doing the techniques with 3 different partners, and I'm not a small guy, about 6'2" 270. so I've been pretty polite in terms of how much force i use when I'm mounting, or trying to pass guard to not injure anyone. 1 of my partners was fine with it, because he said his back has been injured, but the other 2 kept on getting mad for being too polite, and told me to make them as uncomfortable as possible. but i dont wanna be the douche in class that injures people while practicing, nor do i wanna gas out before i can really learn. Is there a general guideline as when to be polite with technique, and when to use more effort? Going slow is good, simply because I pay attention to all the nuances in the technique, and i notice it when i am rolling with the 2 other dudes, but in a tourney or any situation, going slow wont really work too well. any info is appreciated.

Your doing fine sounds like you have good judgement, just train alot and you will get to know the appropriate times to go hard. But when a guy asks for the real deal, train real.

do I need a cup or mouthpiece when I train..I start classes here in July and ordered a gi...but dont know if I need the other 2 for rolling/practice or not??