I want your opinions on....

davejitsu

Purple Belt
Reaction score
guys who go to train somewhere else (seminar) and get a stripe given to them from another school not affiliated with your own. One of the guys who trains under my affiliation went somewhere to train and he got a stripe from another instructor. I'm not sure why this happened or what rank the instructor was that gave him the stripe, but I feel like the stripe (even though not significant in itself) should not be worn. For the record, under our affiliation even though I am a certified instructor, I cannot rank anyone b/c I'm not a BB. I don't want to make this a big deal and bring this up with my professor, but I have never exp this before. Seems shady to me.

Opinions???

why the fuck would you get a belt/stripe from a guy who isn't your instrcutor?

That is what has me kinda pissed. It is like a lack of loyality in my eyes, but like I said I have never exp this before.

Is this your student or something? If not I'd imagine the instructor would notice this guy is wearing an extra stripe and deal with it the way he sees fit.

Yeah, he trains at my academy. Got an email from him today and he was wondering if this was okay. I have not spoken to him in person, therefore i don't know who gave him the stripe. The funny thing is he probably id up for some stripes, but this isnt the way o go about it.

I'd make him take it off. He's the one disrespecting you.

Yeah, that is what I will do. The guy is a good grappler and a nice guy, but I don't think he did it with bad intentions.

I dont know. Your student didnt make a mistake. Another instructor did. Can you unpromote someone? That's what makes promotions so important. I dont know if you can actually undo do them once their done.

The seminar instructor overstepped his bounds. I would find him and discuss it. If he did it with your student without approval he probably does it to a lot of other peoples.