How do I increase flexibility in my legs?

toldyoubefore

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I'm 31 yrs old. I recently had an inner thigh injury but am rehabing that. It's feeling stronger already. What I'm already doing is stretching my legs every other day. I normally will do 20 min on exercise bike then stretch since I heard it's better to stretch once you are warm. I've been stretching my legs regularly for the last 2 months but off and on for the last 6 months and I feel like I'm not getting anywhere. The injury didn't help I guess. Do I need to stretch everyday? Do I need to stretch maybe twice a day everyday to increase flexibility? I'd like to be able to kick near head-level again like I did as a teenager. I can't kick above the waist right now. I also have shorter legs due to genetics. Anyone increased their flexibility have recommendations?

I had some flex. problems with my legs, main problem was not being able to squat low enough. I did 50 bodyweight squats every morning for a few days and it really increased my flex, not only for a squat, but in general.

Dynamic flexibility for the high kick is best trained by trying to kick higher more often. Throw in some abductor and hip flexor exercises and some static stretching at the end of your workouts on top of it and you will get there. It takes time.

The one thing I have found about flexibility is that once you get it up to a certain level, maintaining it is relatively easy and it seems to stay with you. Getting it to where it needs to be is hard as hell, but it pays off.

The one thing I have found about flexibility is that once you get it up to a certain level, maintaining it is relatively easy and it seems to stay with you. Getting it to where it needs to be is hard as hell, but it pays off.

This is so true, I think I recall a coach saying it takes about 4hrs a week of stretching to be able to reach your full potential in a few weeks, but after that you can maintain with less than 1hr stretching a week.