Grappling with instructor

Inge T

I upload things
@Blue
Reaction score
Well, I'm new to the grappling game and really enjoying everything. I just find it strange that when I roll with the instructor, he keeps tapping me with weird gi chokes and leg locks.

I would've preferred it if he grappled me on a rookie level, using kimuras, RNC's and armbars to tap me, and preferrably also tell me where I made mistakes.

So, what do you think - how should an instructor grapple the white belts?

I think the reason why ur instructor taps u out with weird submissions is probabbly because he is trying some new submisions out on you since ur a beginner.

dunno my teacher beats me with basic stuff. basic chokes, kimuras, etc

how many above blue belts to you have at your school. Sometimes instructors need to learn new stuff too; and they use the lower belts to perfect techniques on.

ichimonji said:
how many above blue belts to you have at your school. Sometimes instructors need to learn new stuff too; and they use the lower belts to perfect techniques on.

This is doubtless it. It's very rare my black belt instructor will get me with as simple as an RNC. He likes to do weird somersaulting lapel chokes using his own gi.

I've noticed this with some BJJ instructors. If the BJJ community wants to grow, it can't continue to beat up on every new person who walks in the door. What does it prove? Anyone above blue belt knows BJJ can make a heavier state wrestler tap, never mind a beginner with no grappling experience. Using advanced moves on a beginner does not help him, nor does it do much for you as a higher belt.

When I roll with new people (who don't have an ego) I use the fundamentals. This allows beginners to witness the effectiveness of basic moves and defend them. It also helps me to improve the basics (something that should never be overlooked). Don't get me wrong, the higher belts need to continue to learn more advanced moves, but practice them on those of your same caliber.