Getting a cold....very slowly

kahiljabroni

Silver Belt
@Silver
Reaction score
What's up Sherbros. I've been experiencing this phenomenon for the last couple years where I'll feel a cold coming like 3-5 days before I actually get it. When I was younger a cold would hit me quick...sneezing at noon, full on cold symptoms by dinner time, few shitty days and I'm all good.

Nowadays I get these long drawn out bullshit colds. I'll wake up feeling slightly off. It'll fade during the day, next morning throat mildly sore, fades as day goes on.

This shit will continue 3 to 5 days. Usually day 1 thru 3 I question if it's all in my head. Then it'll hit me legit for a couple days.

Anyway that's a lot of dear diary shit. I know a lot of you are close to my age(41) so I'm wondering if it's an old guy phenomenon or it's just me that's fucked up. Id rather just get hit and get this shit over with l.

I'm no groundhog expert but I think this is just you being more attuned to your body in your 40's. I'm late 40's and since mid-30's definitely notice differences in mental state and how I feel based on diet, stress, etc. Contrary to popular belief, colds don't just come on based on 1 day of exposure to whatever. They happen when your immune system is run down from what you've been doing over the past 5-7 days.

I know I'm susceptible to a cold if I've had ~5 days of bad days at work, family issues, not sleeping well and stupidly still decided to train BJJ and/or lift weights harder than I should have. I also notice the day before I come down with cold symptoms, my resting HR is about 10 bpm higher than normal. That means my CNS is run down and my immune system is being stressed. If that happens, I try to de-stress and go to bed early, take more vitamin C, drink warm fluids, eat more raw vegetables, gargle with warm salt water, etc. and I believe that mitigates the duration and severity of the cold.

Last edited:
Your Cold:
7b920dc59951c75eab349c3d139b3dbd.gif