Do you have a career?

Strikes Again

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
What do you do? Do you enjoy it? Did you go to school for it?
I've had been a bartender at the same place for years. I had enough of the "industry", so I went and worked as a roofer. It's good money but I'm laid off. I would like to see what's out there. I'm really getting antsy.
What do you guys do?

I got a 2 year degree in electronics and I work on safety systems, like the antennas and buildings that house radios on top of mountain tops.

It's not interesting at all. The only satisfying part of the job is when something isn't working and you figure out how to fix it on your own. Some dudes make a hobby out of this shit where they have their own radios and antennas at home and they talk to each other over the airwaves. Never been into that nerdy crap myself.

I started out making $10 an hour to gain experience. There were a ton of set backs along the way. It took me about 5 years to gain 2 years of experience due to lay offs and having to find other jobs that didn't have anything to do with my degree. As soon as I had a couple years under my belt, I switched companies and started at $27 an hour. It's awesome to finally have money for the first time in my life.

I Sherdog for a living

Trainee Civil engineer. Working for a company that is also paying my bills and also paying for my BE (Civil). Pretty sweet deal if you ask me.

Yeah i'm def enjoying it so far.

I'm a data scientist (a mix of computer scientist, statistician, and business analyst) for a Fortune 200 company. Had to get my MBA to get the job. It's pretty good on the whole, the work is often very interesting and the money's good, though I do have A LOT of student loans to pay back. Hopefully there are opportunities for advancement, but I'm not sure what direction that would be in since it's such a specialized field.