Do Any of You Do Nothing at Work?

O

Overtures

I started a new job a while back. My old job was fairly busy. This job is very different. I’ll be given one task that takes two hours for the whole day. Then when I report back, nothing.

I just sit in front of the computer.

It sucks and I hope it picks up.

I dont do shit most of the time but I work in a factory with no one over me so Im free to roam around and talk to people, pitch woo to the few hot chicks that work there, go outside and feed the animals that live in the field or just sit in the sun and work on my tan
When I do have to do some work, its in extreme heat and filthy conditions but all the relaxing free time I have is a great bonus

Im having a dispute with my employers right now. They just tried to change my shift to 10.5 hours 5 days a week. I told them no, I'm not doing that.

I’ve got some days when there isn’t much going on and others where I literally don’t stop and I go home exhausted.

I had been busy for literally like 10 years straight at my job until Covid hit. I work in tourism/transportation and my industry has been absolutely devastated. My entire staff has been laid off all year, and I was part time until recently being brought back full time, and it's been very slow. Just 1 year ago I had a staff of 5 and all of use were busy most of the time. Now it's just me and sometimes it's been hard to keep busy.

I work a 14 days on (10+ hour days) 7 day off shift. Over the course of those 14 days, it can vary greatly from day to day, but generally we're always steady if not downright busy. That being said, last shift it was what I'd call 'busy' for 3 of the 14 days. The other 11, it was a mental struggle to get through them due to being bored out of my mind. I'd rather be running my ass off to make the days go by 'faster'.

I work for a Tier 1 auto supplier so all of our output is JIT/JIS (Just in time/Just in sequence) so we're always balls to the wall. I enjoy the controlled chaos.