deadlift help

peanut butter

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
since i started training properly, i have began to notice a sticking point in my deadlifting. i seem to have real problems getting it off the floor but find it easier to power through once i get the bar to around the knees. ive swtched my technique from convential to sumo stance and easily equalled my pr, yet when i added further weight i failed to lift it off the floor, even though the weight increase was negligable, and considering that i breezed through my pr, i feel this is strange. this is beginning to lead to a rounded back. im not the most flexible of people although have spent a good amount of time stretching over the past year or so. i was thinking of increase the depth that i go on the squat to help get that initial lift off. has anyone got any helpful ideas, thanks.

peanut butter said:
since i started training properly, i have began to notice a sticking point in my deadlifting. i seem to have real problems getting it off the floor but find it easier to power through once i get the bar to around the knees. ive swtched my technique from convential to sumo stance and easily equalled my pr, yet when i added further weight i failed to lift it off the floor, even though the weight increase was negligable, and considering that i breezed through my pr, i feel this is strange. this is beginning to lead to a rounded back. im not the most flexible of people although have spent a good amount of time stretching over the past year or so. i was thinking of increase the depth that i go on the squat to help get that initial lift off. has anyone got any helpful ideas, thanks.

I had this problem too. I started training with smaller plates like 35's and 25's in order to train "beyond" the regular range. It really helped my starting strength, it might not work for everyone though. Make sure to try it out with a lighter than normal weight though!