Conditioning for firefighters

Keyboard

Yellow Belt
@Yellow
Reaction score
Hi guys/gals,

I've recently been accepted into a fire department, and during some of our training I was thinking about the conditioning required for the job. In your experience/opinion, what would you consider the most applicable conditioning methods? For strength I'm already doing deads, squats, dips, pullups, sandbag work, etc. I've also been following ross's methods for conditioning ICT, EIT, burpee's, hill sprints, etc. I was just curious on everyone else's opinion, whether you are a FF or not.

Many thanks!

Do something you like because your conditioning will rarely if ever challenged at work.

Eat chili and practice pool/pingpong/foosball. God I wish I was a firefighter.

Depends what country your in... I get the impression that the USA is very different to here (the UK)

Do something you like because your conditioning will rarely if ever challenged at work.

Bullshit!

When you are wearing breathing apparatus, plus all the other gear including a suit that is like a thick winter blanket. Then dragged the hose out, smashed the door in and gone inside to do a primary search and attack the fire with people screaming at you and a crowd filming your every move on smart phones. You can start sucking big time air with a very high heart rate. If you need to drag someone out it goes higher again.

Work on your power, and strength with all the classic advice and keep your cardio up, all the things you mentioned are perfect.

Its an awesome job, you are gonna love it. Congratulations.

Bullshit!