Box Squat Form Check

DannyGi

White Belt
Reaction score
Following a thread i post about my back squat form check here my box squat!
My squat stalled and maybe switching tho a different lift will get my motivation on the right path.
I feel more secure doing box squat, seems i can handle more weight on my back!

295x1 - Box Squat form check - yes i know its not a real box but my gym sucks, so only alternative is those areobic step or a regular bench.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

i'm a beginner but i'm pretty sure i heard somewhere that you shouldn't stay down that long on the box, for fear of injuries... i'm going to try to find the place where i read that

You need to sit back farther bro. On box squats you wanna make sure your shins are vertical.

Noob question, why is it essential to have shins vertical or past vertical with box squats?

Is more strength derived?

Noob question, why is it essential to have shins vertical or past vertical with box squats?

Is more strength derived?

I think the answer is that you're supposed to engage your posterior chain when training box squats and your power should come from flexing your gluts and hips at the bottom of the lift. That's how Dave Tate describes it - a glut-dominant squat variation.

I don't think it's "essential," but rather, an added benefit. The box squat allows for your shins to go "past vertical" (meaning the knee is behind the sole of the shoe) in a way that is impossible doing regular squats. In doing so, it becomes a very helpful exercise for posterior chain strengthening.

i did box squats every tuesday and thrusday for 4 years while play football.

you only tap the box.... you dont sit on it. come down slow, then as soon as you feel the box, explode up. lean back and chest up when u do them. look up while you're doing them too. also noticed you dont have a spotter..... that would have been 25 up downs.

always have one... even with light weight (no offense)