Bas Rutten's MMA Workout

Rubberfist

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
First: this isn't some sort of endorsement, aside from the fact that I'm just a guy who comes here to learn new things and share some of what I've learned.

The short of it:

Buy it.

Use it.

The long of it:

If you're solo training, then I strongly advise that you give this serious consideration. I've been hitting the bag (among other things) for about 9 months now and was fairly comfortable with the level that I've attained.

Being comfortable in something is typically the first of many signs that you need to step it up.

My bag routines were quite demanding, and had been customized from King Kabuki's program which you can find stickied above. However the problem that I had not considered is that my "routine" was precisely that: a routine that had structure, the tempo of which I would set on my own. Hence if I was a little tired that day, I may have unconciously slowed my pace, which in turn earned me diminshing returns from my workout.

That is where a routine like Bas' really assists the self-motivated solo trainer - it dictates the pace, not you. If you are tired, the CD doesn't really care and the commands come out at the same pace. You are then left to suck it up and push yourself to keep up, or stumble, fall behind and deal with self-disappointment.

I'm currently using the Boxing CD, however when I'm able to complete the 3 minute round workout in a manner that satisfies me, I have 3 other CD's (thai boxing, all around fighting, all around workout) to progress through.

Anyhow, just thought I'd share.

I started using them about two weeks ago. Great stuff. I would highly recommend it.