Asking for a "break" while rolling

Jesse

Blue Belt
Reaction score
So last night in class I was rolling with this guy for about 20 minutes or so. I was side-mounted or mounted the majority of the time, my submission defense is good enough to survive against white belts and some blue belts (I started training in January, bout 3 days a week) . Anyway, so after I finally get off my back into his guard he seems to turn off and says "hey wanna take a break" It kinda... well no not kinda, it flat out irritated me. IMO- When I roll during open mat there is no distance or time limits to keep in mind (unless you've got a family to get home to or prior obligations of course, which my sparring partner did not) Even if I'm flat out exhausted I want to go until a submission happens. It doesn't seem to bother me so much when Blue belts or a higher break off a roll cause it's taking to long or something, but this guy was my level, white belt.

Thanx for listening, or reading, or whatever the fuck you call it on the internet

honestly i think you are wrong here because you need to understand that rolling in training is not competition so if someone is tired or hurt or we else its not a big deal to stop you are not trying to beat the other guy you are trying to learn so if your training partner runs out of steam after a 20 min roll which is quite possible and wants to stop you should ... this reminds me of the new guys that get mad if they think they have you in a sub when the time runs out and try to finish it after everyone else stops

I always quit if I cramp up, pull a muscle, jam a finger bad, feel like I am going to puke. It is training, you shouldn't have to kill yourself. What is to stop you from taking a break and starting over in the same position?

dont worry about it, its just training. and guard is a pretty neutral position, so its not like he was trying to get out of "losing" by asking you to take a break.