Arm Wrestling!

SpiralOut

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I am mostly a lurker here in S&P, but as my deadlift increases, so does my willingness to stray into these hallowed halls. I have been doing StrongLifts for a couple months and have been loving every minute of it. Anywho, I was drinking Guiness and Whiskey the other night, and made a rather sizeable wager with a friend that in approximately one year's time, I would be able to best anyone in arm wrestling at my fraternity's annual alumni reunion. My question is, what lifts will best prepare me for such an endeavor? I ran a forum search, and didn't really find anything on topic. Also, I apologize in advance if this is the wrong forum, but I couldn't think of another that would be more appropriate. (Grappling is my second, distant choice.) I am really hoping the answer is not curls...

Search for Grip Strength, see FAQ, and get some grippers.

Its also a LOT about technique, so read up on google I would imagine.

ESPN is suprisingly ADDICTIVE to watch when the arm wrestling championships are on..lol

There is a lot of technique to arm wrestling. So practice practice practice. Hammer curls, wrist curls, pinch work, thickbar work, that kinda shit.

Erm, Id say a good crushing grip would help. If you can squeeze the shit out of the opponents hand it might hinder his performance. Arm wrestling is a bit of an awkward movement, Id say just train the whole body evenly, you will get stronger and you will beat guys who are weaker. Simple as that.