adding 20 rep sqauts to 5x5? critique my routine

Andrew D

Blue Belt
Professional Fighter
Reaction score
This is my first post in the S&P forum but I've been reading up on everything for a long time now. I started with the FAQ and browsing the topics. I wanted to be as well informed as possible before getting back into the weight room so I went through link after link on the D&S FAQ reading everything about fish oil and protein etc. The last thing i read was almost every article in the sticky from Keith Wassung. About a month ago was when i decided to start a serious weight lifting program.

A little bit more background on myself. I am recently turned 18 years old and a very lean 6'1 162 and those last 10 pounds have only just come in the past month. I have been training MMA for the past 2 years and have competed in a few grappling tournaments and smoker mma tournaments as well. I realized when I weight 148 i was still fighting 160+ because there weren't enough guys my size to fill out a couple of the tournaments in my area. The fact that I still placed pretty decent and only lost decisions in the finals against bigger guys motivated me to dive headfirst into smart lifting. I have a fight coming up in a few months and training could be going better but I would like to get as strong as possible first.

I decided to choose the Bill Starr 5x5 because I liked how it would build everything and its emphasis was on squats and core strength. This is how my program has looked for the past month.

Tuesday:

Bench Press 5x5 pyramid
ATG Squat 5x5 pyramid
BOR 5x5 pyramid

Thursday:

Military Press 5x5 pyramid
ATG Squat 5x5 pyramid
Romanian Deadlift/Deadlift 5x5 pyramid
Pullups 3xfailure

Saturday:
Bench Press 5x5 pyramid
ATG Squat 5x5 pyramid
BOR 5x5 pyramid

Basically after reading into the 20 rep squat set I really want to implement it somehow into this workout without messing anything up.