YouTube BJJ comp arm snaps....yikes! Do you change your "tap time" for comp

Will_N.O.

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Followed the link from the other current "why didn't he tap" thread, which of course linked to a bunch of other touney arm breaks, many of them of them spectacularly gruesome. Probably not the wisest course of action with my 1st comp coming up.

It did lead to a question, however. I have a sense of my "tap limit" for training...I'm not some crazy "never tap" guy, but I generally will let a sub go until it's pretty sunk in before I tap...at training intensity, this usually means 3 seconds or so for an armbar depending on who I am rolling with.

All of those ugly YouTube breaks were over in that time. Do I need to think about re-calibrating my tap limit for this comp? I'm a total newb, 2 months and not especially talented so I'm not looking to medal, just get some early comp experience. Needless to say, a major involuntary mat vacation is not the sort of experience I am looking for.

Would appreciate some insight from the more comp-experienced posters. I'm just being paranoid...right?

it shouldn't be based on a time limit, if an armbar gets fully extended, i would tap, if you can keep it bent and straighten it on your own terms to do the rolling escape, if it doesn't work, tap immediately.

I heard once that an elbow will pop three times before it breaks. I have got to two and won't let it go any farther. If a guy is slowly forcing out, I will fight it for as long as I can but if it is quick and extended, I tap fairly quickly. A fucked up elbow would end my career (my real career in the military) and it isn't worth it.

i would think that allowin 1 or 2 clicks/pops is not the best strategy... don't you think those noises mean something?

it could be the severity of the injury, but it is still injury