Yelling in training

Gia

White Belt
Reaction score
Today in training I had a guy torque an armbar extremely fast. For the first time since I started training (6 months) I pretty much panicked and didn't feel like I had time to even tap. I ended up just letting out a loud ah! sound and looked up to everyone wondering wtf had happened...

I don't remember ever seeing anyone else do that before, so I felt like a jackass afterwards lol...

you can verbally tap too, that's what it typically sounds like

I had that happen to me but in boxing/sparring. The dude hit me with the hardest gut shot i've ever felt i let out some type of load yelp. I looked around, no one seemed to care so we continued to spar.

yelling as a form of verbal submission is correct.

I just say Ai.

Some guys say Tap.

Some guys like to grunt trying to outmuscle our of an armbar. That would be considered a verbal submission. Any word or noise is considered a verbal submission.

Just pretend you were practicing your war face.

I almost always tap verbally as well as physically. I normally repeat the word tap, while tapping. Sometimes its just quicker, sometimes your hands might not be in a position to tap (wrapped up in the gi etc).

Better to let out a scream before he breaks your arm than after.

If someone catches you in a submission and it gets tight in a hurry, I say tap by any means necessary. Verbal, tap them, tap the mat, stamp your foot, snap your fingers if you have to. Whatever momentary embarassment could come from it is much better than being off the mats for an extended time with an injury.

Things like this happen when you are panicking.

One time I got caught fast and ended up tapping on the dudes face.

I wish I didn't do this more often then I do... but hey, I get in some pretty sticky spots when I mostly only have upper belts to roll with.