Wrestling traits?

SpartanWarrior

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I'm doing BJJ now. Everyone I roll with asks me if I used to wrestle but I never have. Ive never taken any form of grappling before I started training BJJ. Are there any techniques that I might be doing that wrestlers tend to use?

In England its rare for people to wrestle but the regular guy who attends my class & another dood who tried it out who had a wrestling background instantly understantly understand the importance of neck control. Do wrestlers call it a clinch, not like a Muay Thai clinch, but the position where you have one hand at the back of your opponents neck & the other controlling an arm?

it could be your aggressiveness, I ask guys all the time if they wrestle and they say no, you just have insticts like aggressivenesss and top control, I have never seen you roll obviously but that is what it sounds like to me.

I often get asked if I wrestled before, as well. I don't understand it but aggressiveness (as stated above) may have something to do with it.

Big Red said:
Do wrestlers call it a clinch, not like a Muay Thai clinch, but the position where you have one hand at the back of your opponents neck & the other controlling an arm?
it's a "tie up" or "tie" or "collar tie" with one hand on the beck of the neck, other cupping tricept. we clinch too but it's a little different. you see that more in greco wrestling.

if you dont instantly flop on your ass, bjj guys ask if you're a wrestler.

Good grappling instincts (including the tendency to give up your back, lol), aggressiveness, good balance (extremely hard to sweep), good hips, good strength for your size, good takedowns, good conditioning, good sense of how to control your opponent (especially no-gi) would all be considered traits inherent to a good wrestler.

Fight_Song said:
if you dont instantly flop on your ass, bjj guys ask if you're a wrestler.