Would it be a bad idea to try and learn striking at home?

Deltafarce

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
I’ve got mats, gloves and a speed bag and plenty of Jiujitsu friends that I know want to learn some striking.

So do you guys think I could learn some effective striking at home with other inexperienced people. My background is Jiujitsu, couple years of Kenpo and a few MMA classes over the years.

My main concern is you don’t want people that don’t know what they are doing punching each other in the head and people getting hurt

I’ve got mats, gloves and a speed bag and plenty of Jiujitsu friends that I know want to learn some striking.

So do you guys think I could learn some effective striking at home with other inexperienced people. My background is Jiujitsu, couple years of Kenpo and a few MMA classes over the years.

My main concern is you don’t want people that don’t know what they are doing punching each other in the head and people getting hurt

I mean you could hit the bag watch some boxing and muay thau fights and copy them to an extent (that is if your a visual learner) or you could contact some of your mma friends that you trained with an ask them if they want to meet up and train. If you did Kempo and had some mma classes you could learn to beat the average guy on the streets.

Only if your practicing on your wife..

Definitely. Even just shadowboxing can be effective. Try to get videos of yourself training so you can see for yourself what mistakes you're making and what you need to work on. If you're all beginners you need to teach one another not to have an ego and not to get angry when sparring. Start slow and just go over the motions