Working Through Hip Pinch

Oblivian

Aging
Platinum Member
Reaction score
I'm making this thread documenting my dealings with hip pinch in hopes that it may help someone else out or that I can get some tips to help myself out. I've been lifting for about 11 years now, and I'm always working through some sort of ache or pain. I have never dealt with hip pinch until recently. It's basically a tightness or discomfort that I feel near my hip when I reach near parallel in a squat. It's most noticeable when stopping the descent of the squat and then trying to come out of the hole. I'm also noticing discomfort when setting up for leg drive + an arch on bench press.

When did this start for me and what triggered it
This started about 3-4 weeks ago. What triggered it? No idea. I've been squatting for a long time and have never had it. I will say I was hitting some PRs on squats and peaking. Another theory is that I got it from catching a clean and jerk wrong. I've been dicking around with the oly lifts for a while, and I've never really got decent at them. I sometimes catch the clean funky at the bottom. With that said, it was never one particular lift where I can say I noticed it. It just slowly crept in. It became a problem one time when I didn't want to come out of the hole of a squat with a weight far below 90% of my 1RM. The tightness and discomfort was too much that I figured it was a bad idea to move forward.

How am I trying to work around it?
As mentioned, this was not just limiting squats, but bench also. I did not want to cut out both lifts. I found that I could do high box squats (squatting onto my Rogue bench a couple inches above parallel) did not cause any pain. I've used this movement before as it's good for overloading my squat. I've found I can 5RM my regular 1RM squat. For bench, I decided to do feet up bench. I actually lay another bench perpendicular across my regular bench and have my feet rest on it.

Is it getting better?