where does Wonderboys karate compare to prime Lyoto Machida?

it is what it is

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
I have little knowledge in the art, but I'm curious how their levels & accomplishments in that realm compare.

The main difference is Thompson doesn't have a glass chin like Lyoto.

I think their styles are very different. Machida focuses on counter striking and has better defense imo. Wonderboy is way more aggressive and has more kicking variety.
Both have very good technique imo.

Thompson is overall a better striker but I think prime Lyoto may have been harder to hit. Both are very effective in different ways

Last edited:
machida uses more of a traditional shotokan style implementing the zenkutsu dachi (front stance) good midrange getting in and out while also being able to regulate takedowns and hip disruption very well. wonderboy uses a side stance( we called it a bow stance in american kenpo.) which is used a lot in point karate and taekwondo. it allows you to cover distance quicker, and spring qucikly but leaves you open to takedowns(which from training with weidman, wonderboy seems to have remedied this downside)

Been touched on already in the first few replies. Machida used his techniques for defense more than offense, Thompson is the other side of this coin. But they both have very solid technique and it's entertaining to watch.

They come from very different areas of the karate universe.

Machida studied traditional Shotokan and competed in Shotokan tournaments before coming into MMA. His style relies on evasion with his primary weapon being a straight punch counter. He doesn't kick much, and when he does it's very traditional, fundamental sort of kicks like the front kick and roundhouse.