What is the absolute best training for flexibility?

penguinsfan

White Belt
Reaction score
Okay, I'm a new MMA student, doing it more for recreation than anything else. Anyway, I do envy those that can do headkicks with ease.

I am so stiff in my hamstrings, groin, and most of the rest of my lower body that I can only kick knee high. Even waist high gets the hip joints hurting.

What is the best training material to make me incredibly flexible, enable easy headkicks, and add overall flexibility too?

Thanks.

I heard that living on the South Pole for a year increases flexibility.

Yoga. Not only will it help your kicks, but your BJJ.

That being said, you either love it or hate it, I love it, but I'm sure 5 guys after me will hate it. They incorporate it into training at my gym, but that's rare. Check out Youtube for some good vids.

Yoga is actually great, only tried it out a couple times a week for a month. It makes you feel good and relaxed. A friend of mine instructs yoga and im not sure what level shes at but I dont know anyone more flexible. She can damn near stand on her own head.

Most knowledgeable people who have a problem with yoga hold that sentiment because it encourages increased flexibility in places where you'd be better off increasing stability (knee and lower back joints come to mind).

Its more technique than flexiblity imo. I know people who are flexible as shit (like Yoga type people) but I doubt they could even kick me to the torso let alone the head.

You have to launch the leg and go for it, this is hard because it feels like you'll fall on your ass if you go for it but you'll get used to it. Also another thing that gets my high kicks higher is doing a little skip before the kick but I dont recommend doing this in sparring.

kick repeatedly with proper technique. 5 million times.

warm up and stretch before and after.