What is the absolute best training for flexibility?

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by penguinsfan, Mar 18, 2008.

1. penguinsfan

penguinsfan White Belt

Okay, I'm a new MMA student, doing it more for recreation than anything else. Anyway, I do envy those that can do headkicks with ease.

I am so stiff in my hamstrings, groin, and most of the rest of my lower body that I can only kick knee high. Even waist high gets the hip joints hurting.

What is the best training material to make me incredibly flexible, enable easy headkicks, and add overall flexibility too?

Thanks.

2. Urban

Urban Savage Mystic

overhead squats.

3. mobeck

mobeck Green Belt

I heard that living on the South Pole for a year increases flexibility.

4. BigJMcCarthy

BigJMcCarthy White Belt

Yoga. Not only will it help your kicks, but your BJJ.

That being said, you either love it or hate it, I love it, but I'm sure 5 guys after me will hate it. They incorporate it into training at my gym, but that's rare. Check out Youtube for some good vids.

5. mmyers

mmyers Orange Belt

Yoga is actually great, only tried it out a couple times a week for a month. It makes you feel good and relaxed. A friend of mine instructs yoga and im not sure what level shes at but I dont know anyone more flexible. She can damn near stand on her own head.

6. Urban

Urban Savage Mystic

Most knowledgeable people who have a problem with yoga hold that sentiment because it encourages increased flexibility in places where you'd be better off increasing stability (knee and lower back joints come to mind).

7. spirez

spirez Purple Belt

8. spirez

spirez Purple Belt

9. vince89

vince89 Banned Banned

Its more technique than flexiblity imo. I know people who are flexible as shit (like Yoga type people) but I doubt they could even kick me to the torso let alone the head.