Trying to gain solid mass. How much cardio?

justint

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I'm 17 right now, 5' 10.5" and 155lb. I'd like to put on around 15lb of lean mass, but I have some questions. I recently started training Muay Thai and also plan on doing some BJJ in a few months. I want to put on lean mass but also get quicker. How much if any cardio should I do in addition to my Muay Thai workouts. Here is my weekly schedule:

Mon - Lifting: Bench, rows, skull crushers
Tues - Muay Thai: 1hr
Wed - Light bagwork: 45 min, Running: 3 miles
Thurs - Muay Thai: 1 hr
Fri - Lifting: Squat, deadlift, cleans
Sat - Muay Thai: 1hr
Sun - Yoga: 1.5 hr, Rest

I know my schedule is far from perfect, but it is more or less what I can do according to certain time limitations. My question is: Should I cut out the running and put in more lifting? Should I cut out a Muay Thai session for more lifting? Should I just stuff down pound upon pound of beef, chicken, or turkey down my throat? All of the Above?

to gain weight it would be better to replace your running day with another lifting day

Mixed training equals mixed results!!!

If you want to gain weight, use charlie francies/ian kings GPP template:

4days a week strength trianing
2days a week technique
4days a week strengthing
1day if any energy system were you mimic your sport
2 days a week recovery techniques

Conduct a search for Chad Waterbury, he has some really good articles about building size and strength.

Reakt said:
to gain weight it would be better to replace your running day with another lifting day

I agree and gaining weight is more about eating more food than it is about lifting.

anvar said:
Mixed training equals mixed results!!!

If you want to gain weight, use charlie francies/ian kings GPP template:

4days a week strength trianing
2days a week technique
4days a week strengthing
1day if any energy system were you mimic your sport
2 days a week recovery techniques