TMA Fans: Your experiences with Tae Kwon Do?

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by Keej613, Apr 13, 2008.

1. Keej613

Keej613 Guest

Attention fans of traditional martial arts: Please post up your thoughts about and experiences with Tae Kwon Do training.

Did you learn valuable striking techniques or was it just a bunch of LARPing and board-breaking?

Any info would be appreciated!

2. Chris Kimmerly

Chris Kimmerly Amateur Fighter

I studied ITF TKD and Iwouldn't have traded it for nothing. I accredit my kicing ability to TKD. Now this isnt the TKD you see in the olympics where there are no punhes to the head. It was more like kyoshinkai karate.

The fact I can throw ko kicks off my lead leg, and throw kick from any angle with any leg has help me out of tight spots in MMA

3. Kosh

Kosh Guest

Exactly. There are many TKD schools, just like Karate.

4. distorted

distorted White Belt

I did it for a while, and it seemed like the place I was at was more in for making money and keeping you there, they tossed out belts like candy, after I had been training for a couple months i was quickly humbled while sparring with a friend of mine without TKD rules.

Anyway it was probably just the school, but in my experience it wasn't the most useful experience, however... I think the kicks will always come in useful.

5. Kyryllo

Kyryllo Kia kaha e hine!

Lucerne, Switzerland (via Cologne, Germany)
    Been doing it for over 15 years now and will do it for at least 15 more.

6. Nefron

Nefron Purple Belt

It looks more like shotokan to me.

7. wildman1717

wildman1717 Green Belt

I did ITF TKD for about 13 years and agree that it is better then the WTF TKD because of the hands to the head.

8. vu

vu Purple Belt

I did WTF TKD since 1993...then picked up BJJ in 2004 and Muay Thai in 2005...been doing mostly Muay Thai since...