thoughts on full body workouts...

a statistic

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
i want to know if any of you do a full body workout. i have been lifting for about 8 years now and have gotten results out of the plan that i have always used. however, i do not have the time to do it.

also, i am in the police academy right now and have really gotten interested in doing some mma training and realize the difference between my "bodybuilding" plan and a strength building plan.

so, with only a POS hoist machine, like a bowflex, and dumbells, what do you think of doing a full body routine 2 times a week? i am also running 3-4 times a week, both on my own, and some mandatory for the academy.

here is what i was thinking. in superset form:

seated bench/dumbell squat or the squat curl
lat pulls/lunges
military press/seated row
incline dumbell bench/skullcrushers
upright row/barbell curl
tri. ext./lateral-front raises
abs/leg curls

what do you think? like i said, i have been on a pretty basic plan with lots of isolation and basic exercises.

i wish i could do dead lift but i dont have a barbell, but may buy one soon.

$150 will net you an olympic barbell and 300 lbs. do it. do it now.

I like full body workouts. But I do not like that one. Also rEmY gave you some good advice:)

Circuit training (like one giant set including exercises for entire body). Good for retaining mass while doing cardio. Really don't find full-body great from building mass or strength. Would advise a program to look like this:

DB Bench Press
Bent-Over DB Row
Front Pulldown/Weighted Chin
Seated DB Press
DB Upright Row
Hammer Curl
Seated Two-Arm Dumbbell Extension
Twisting Crunch (use a cable from your bowflex to add resistnance if you like)
DB Deadlift (a barbell is way better for this...)
DB Walking Lunges (once again, barbell...)
Leg Curl
Standing Calf Raise (a barbell would also be nice here)