Tactical Barbell and other stuff

Tirofijo2001

Yellow Belt
@Yellow
Reaction score
I'm just getting started with Tactical Barbell's Base Building (BB). Once the BB is done, I'll switch to Operator + Black

I'm following the 17 week Law Enforcement Sample Program as outlined in Tactical Barbell 2 (Conditioning)

I've had various injuries/surgeries and have to work around a few things. I'll mention them when appropriate.

Day 6
resting heart rate 53 bpm
Long Steady State (running)
33 minutes on treadmill.
Avg heart rate 137
Knee is still a bit sore from twisting it a few weeks ago. Decided to end at 33 minutes rather than aggravate it.

Week 2 Day 1
Strength Endurance Cluster
3x30

Overhead press
Front Squat
Rows (Pendlay)
Bench (close grip, phone book on chest)
Shrugs
Stiff leg dead lift

65lbs (except for overhead press. Started that with 65, then dropped to 55 for second set, did third set with just bar)
Broke most of the sets as 20 rest/pause 10.

I've recently moved my hands closer together on the bench and making an effort to keep my elbows from flaring. I had shoulder issues and a want to do what I can to keep them healthy. Feel like i'm starting to get it grooved in but the test will be when I start the true strength portion of Tactical Barbell. I'm sure my numbers are going to be less with the close grip.

Spent the morning on the range working the pistol at 25 yards.

Week 2 Day 2
LSS 40 minute run.

90 degrees plus.

Knee felt good. No pain. Might be a little bit stiffer, but definitely getting better after twisting it a couple of weeks ago.

Didn't have HRM. Checked it a few times and HR was close to 160. Too high.

Week 2 Day 3

Did a very shallow 40 minute dive and then waited a few hours before working out.

LSS 40 minute run on treadmill

Had heart rate monitor, so was able to keep an AVG HR of 140

No issues. I'm liking a structured program.

Went to bed very tired, but that is normal after diving.