Sweet Sweet Muay Thai

Zerocrew1984

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I'm a noob that just started learning Muay Thai. At some point within a couple years I would like to compete in a local Muay Thai competition..and win.

5'11
215lbs
Old log full of fail.
http://www.sherdog.net/forums/f49/grip-riiiip-507810/

mother-of-god-super-troopers.jpg

Class # 1
20 mins of jump rope-fuck you

then a fuck ton of jogging around the gym with bw exercises thrown in like
jogging, 2 bw squats, jogging, 4 bw squats, jogging, 6 bw squats, jogging, 8bw squats etc. Overall, it went something like, jumps, push ups, shuffling, high knees, squats, punching while running, sprints. I had to walk alot. I was sucking wind really bad. Fuck you cardio.

Since it was my first class, I had one on one instruction with Russell. He taught basic stuff like stance, punches, knees, teeps, and low kick. We then went on to him calling out combinations and again, I started to suck wind hard. It was also a little difficult because I'm more used to hearing the punches called out as numbers instead of the actual punches.

Then we got to practice our low kicks, teeps, and knees on a shield which was fun but we really only worked the right side.

Some stretching and 90 mins down in the books. I'm pretty fucking beat and from watching the actual "beginners" class, it's going to be a lot harder. Time to suck it up and embrace the cardio. I also need to work alot on pivoting fully and popping my hips. I seem to only "half" pivot.

Last edited:
215 lbs? I thought you were supposed to be slim now.

tl/dr

I give this log 1-2 months.
My last one lasted awhile.

Pivoting is key, man. If it's for your Round Kick, check out the 1:40 mark of this video:
YouTube - Drills To Improve Your Rear Leg Round Kick

This type of drill helps a lot.

Good luck with your training!
Thanks for the help man! I need it.

215 lbs? I thought you were supposed to be slim now.

What can I say, I like beer and can gain weight easily.