Squat Issue

jtmb

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
I recently started training with my little brother who is 16 and the most athletic thing he's done so far in life involves his thumbs. That being said, I have him on starting strength and technically, he is progressing pretty quickly for only having lifted a total of 3 weeks.

There is one main issue I have noticed while he squats though. Generally, he has solid form in terms of depth and setup. Still needs to tweak a few things here and there, but otherwise I've seen a lot worse. However, usually after a set or two, or if we add a few lbs to the bar, he starts doing this weird hula-hoop shit that leaves me baffled. I have seen it a few times on 'squat help' threads but I never really paid attention to the advice given since I never had this problem personally.

I will try and take some video on my next lift day, Thursday, but does anyone have any idea what would be causing this? I don't think it's a spinal cord issue (e.g. scoliosis, I remember seeing that in a vid Urban posted if i remember correctly) and I would think it is probably a flexibility issue but he hits depth with ease.

Thoughts?

If this hula hooping motion you are noticing is in his knees, tell him to widen his stance slightly and point his toes out a little more then make him focus on pushing his knees out as he gets out of the hole. Now if this hula hooping motion is in his hips...well he may need to lower the weight and readjust his positioning and sit between his ankles more rather than sit back.

A small amount is somewhat normal. A more signifcant amount is something you need put more effort into addressing.