South paw vs orthodox

MMAfan9000

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys whats up I just started training in boxing and im working on the basics so far, but i was wondering what you guys think of south paws.I sparred this guy the other day and he switched to S.P and it threw me off a little bit. I wanna learn to box S.P . I did a little shadow boxing in S.P stance and it felt ok. But would that be bad learning to train both of them. Like I said I just wanna learn S.P and keep it in my arsenal.

Also I would like to know some good combos. Not 1-2-3's something a little bit more advanced and what are some good strength training exercises. I have been working on my endurance lately. Im 18 210 lbs,5'11 and have been doing it the last month or so and im kinda flying solo, but i have a couple guys i work with that help me out that are pretty good, Im just looking for all the advice I can get. It would be appreciated.Thanks.

If you're right handed, stick with orthodox for the time being, especially if you're new. Most people get tempted to switch at first because they are more comfortable using their right hand, so want to use it more often with the jab.

fight orthodox i see ton's of beginners trying to switch or go southpaw and it's painful to watch because they have nothing on thier rear hand punch and there basically one handed fighters.
You will lose two handed exchange's, and fight bad on the inside. few people pull this off well. I know people will bring up winky wright, michael moorer, and people who have made it work but in my expierence it's rare that guys can be as effective.

Being ambidextrous is so overrated. Let me rephrase that, being ambidextrous can be a good thing, but it takes a lot of dedication and commitment, something most people aren't cut out for.

It's better to be good fighting one way, than to be equally shitty with both sides.