Sore ankles/shins after running

Larry Crobberts

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hi,

Relative newcomer to this forum and just noticed this particular subforum and thought i'd participate, since many of you are well-versed in conditioning. I'm a conditioning newbie.

Anyways, this past Jan1/08 i decided to get myself back into shape. I had let myself go for about 3 years since I left school to a full-time desk job where I sit on my ass all day moving paper. I just stopped being active and started eating alot of fast food and also being lazy about preparing meals for myself. On Jan1/08 i was an uncomfortable 241 pounds (i'm 6ft tall). Today, April15/08 i'm pretty proud to say that i'm 212 pounds.

I replaced all soft drinks with water and all snacks with fresh fruits & vegetables. I portion-size my meals now.

So, coupled with the diet change, what I did was I started walking 3 kilometres every single day. I never missed a day and I made it a habit. And then i began running a bit, then walking, as I huff & puff away.

So now i'm able to run about a kilometre without stopping, then walk a bit, then run again for a while, until i'm tired. I do the same 3 kilometre track every night (just a loop around local streets in my neighbourhood).

Anyways, my ankles & shins are absolutely killing me and i've had to go back to walking my loop instead. Also, my knees are killing me as well. I run on pavement so it's tough on impact to my body but it's all iv'e got. Are there specific brands of shoes i should be buying? Do you have any advice on different kinds of cardio i can do? My goal is to get down to 200 pounds by summer, and then hopefully to 190 by the end of this calendar year.

Share some conditioning exercises with me. I'm a guy with no money who lives in an apartment lol.

You've given yourself shin splints, and possibly stress fractures to boot. Search the forum for about a million threads on the subject.