Some feedback would be nice

Havermayer

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone, long time listener, etc.

I've noticed there's been quite a glut of these recently, but since I only recently managed to get registered on the board (no thanks to lousy Firefox, but more of that another time) and I've been itching to get some feedback, here goes.

It's a programme I've gradually pulled out of my ass after years of trial, error, patience and not listening, and I need the opinions of a bunch of anonymous people off the internet to make me feel secure about it. I've been lifting weights on and off for several years, and have about three years of experience learning muay thai (no fights). I weigh 65kg's at 5'8, and have average bodily proportions. I train alone, there being no-one else interested in muay thai around here.

The goal of the programme is to produce as much striking power as possible, with no concern for adherence to weight categories. I'm considering adding a running schedule at some point for enhanced endurance, but for now I would like to get settled into what I have arranged. It seems reasonably consistent with what is written in the sticky's. However, since
Carnal's programme appears to be exclusively based on strength training (didn't see any mention of MA training fitting in with the routine), I've stripped down the lifts to the main five.

monday: bas rutten's striking tape, the one with 10x2 minute rounds and 7x3 minutes, with 1 minutes rest. Every combination I throw I add a kick. In the minutes rest gap I do 30 push-ups, after the next round I perform 30 deep bodyweight squats, and after the next I perform 30 twisting sit-ups. I continue in this fashion through-out side one, resting during the 1-minutes on side two. I usually finish with about 50 roundhouses off each leg.