SocraticMethod's Strength & Conditioning Log (Advice/Criticism Appreciated)

SocraticMethod

Kingmaker
@Steel
Reaction score
It was recommended I start a training log, so here goes. I'm a total newb to this type of training. Since college I've been doing 3 sets of 10 and making little progress. I'd take time off and be a lazy bum for a while, then come back to the gym. At first I'd see gains, since I was actually doing something as opposed to nothing. Then I'd hit a wall, get frustrated and stop going for a while, only to repeat the cycle.

So a month or two ago I stumbled on the "New Personal Favorite Idiot" thread. At first it was good for a laugh - then I realized I basically did the same type of routine as the "idiots." (Other than curling in the squat rack. Even I knew not to do that.) So I decided to jump on board and read the workouts in the FAQ. At the same time, me and a few buddies decided to do a triathlon in May, and began training for that. We're all graduating in May and going our separate ways, so this is one last thing we're doing together as a group. As such, I'm running, biking and swimming a lot because my endurance is total crap. That led me to choose to the 2-Day Split in the FAQ.

Basically, my week looks like this:
Monday: Run and bike (either running in the am and biking in the pm, or doing a brick in the pm)
Tuesday: Swim in the am, MMA in the pm
Wednesday: Day 1 of the Split, optional morning run
Thursday: Swim in the am, MMA in the pm
Friday: Long run, optional bike
Saturday: MMA in the am, run and/or bike in the pm
Sunday: Day 2 of the split in the am, run and/or bike in the pm

This is my basic plan for the next nine weeks - the tri is on May 10. I'm three weeks into this basic plan. My numbers are still terrible, but they're a lot less terrible than they were when I started, so I guess that's something.